Working with Chronic Pain (Part 1) 

I like to think working is something we are all wired to do, it’s what we learn during our school years that carries us forward on to bigger and better things, the big scary world of being a grown up.  

I’ve worked since I can remember, I think I was about 12 when I first started working in a kitchen, loading the dishwasher sweeping floors, and whatever else, but it didn’t matter, it was experience and I got paid for it, my own money I had earned.

I’ve never been work shy, thats the way I was brought up, you want something, you work your ass off to get it. And I did.  I worked damned hard to get the things I wanted, clothes, cd’s, make up or whatever else was the “in thing” at the time. I may not have gotten the Adidas trainers at the same time as everyone else, but I worked and eventually got them, even if they weren’t fashionable by that time, it didn’t matter, I worked for them and I was proud!

Leaving school to go to work is terrifying. No more meeting your mates, talking rubbish, school holidays, no it’s time for the big bad world.  I don’t think any amount of preparation prepares you for the change, inevitably it’s going to happen at some point, so get those big girl panties on and deal with it! 

I got my first job as an Administration Associate working for a Oil company when I was 16, chuffed to bits I was when I got the call to say the job was mine (especially after 52 other interviews!). I’d done it! I was now going to work for a living and have a career!  

That was 14 years ago now, and I still remember the first day i started. Terrified.  But over the years I got to know so many people, some of whom are still in my life today, and if it wasn’t for some of those people, I wouldn’t be where I am today (you know who you are!).  

Working became what I knew, it was what I did now, school days were long gone.  I worked so hard to achieve everything I wanted, everything i set my mind to.  For a while I worked stupid hours, 14 hour days, till I was so exhausted it had to stop, but I carried on till my hand problems started.  You’d think it was carpel tunnel with the amount of typing I was doing but that was all ruled out and to this day they still don’t know what’s wrong! *Sigh*

Anyway. Working, it’s all i have ever known, or atleast it feels like that now. Like I said, I wanted something I worked for it.  I got my qualifications in Business Administration and i was proud of the career path I was taking, I was bettering myself and making a life for myself.  

I never, ever thought that one day, it could all be taken away from me and that I’d have to fight with every bit of determination and strength I had in me just to be able to work.  

I wasn’t in control anymore, my body was (or atleast my Back was).  But that wasn’t going to stop me.  I’d fought so hard to get where I am today, i have worked my ass off to achieve everything I wanted in life so far, so pain wasn’t going to stop me….. Or so I thought……. 

  

5 thoughts on “Working with Chronic Pain (Part 1) 

  1. Are you able to work anymore? I’m currently unemployed looking for a job, hopefully able to find one that provides me with the flexibility of working from home. I’m unemployed due to my illness and my former employer not understanding my medical / disability situation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

