30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know – #IIWK15 

As part of Invisible Illness Week (IIWK15), I wanted to share 30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know, so here goes!!

1. The illness I live with is: Degenerative Disc Disease, Facet Joint Hypetrophy, Facet Joint Arthritis, Failed Back Syndrome, Hip Bursitis, lumbar spinal stenosis.

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 2011 – currently still being diagnosed! 

3. But I had symptoms since: 2010

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: Working from home instead of driving to work every day. 

5. Most people assume: Because I look ok, I am ok, there’s nothing wrong with me because they can’t see the pain inside me.

6. The hardest part about mornings are: Not knowing what the day will hold for me.

7. My favorite medical TV show is: ER!!!

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: My phone, when your unable to move very far, it’s a tool to communicate with the outside world and not feel so alone!

9. The hardest part about nights are: Trying to get to sleep and stay asleep for longer than 2 hours.  I hate going to bed! 

10. Each day I take: 15 pills & vitamins

11. Regarding alternative treatments I: Have tried everything I can that is suitable for me.  If it works for you then go for it, it doesn’t mean it will work for me!

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: Visible, then the world could see there was something wrong! 

13. Regarding working and career: I work from home, enjoy my job working in the oil and gas industry dealing with Patents and Trademarks.  If it wasn’t for my job I wouldn’t be the person I am today, my job gives me something to focus on, to take my mind off the pain. 

14. People would be surprised to know: I’m not as strong as you think! 

15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: The lack of ability to do things I used to do without thought, now, I either can’t do them or need help. Sucks!! 

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: Still be able to work.

17. The commercials about my illness: Nope, none that I know of!

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: Random things, like going for a walk when I want to, or jumping in the car and driving away somewhere, those things I miss desperately! 

19. It was really hard to have to give up: My old life, the one I’d worked for 25 years to build, now I have a new life to learn about. 

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: Knitting, Photography (amateur), charity work. And now blogging! 

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: Do everything I can’t do now!  go for a walk, run, jump up and down, roll down a hill (just for the pure hell of it), swim till my arms fell off, take NO tablets, get drunk, dance, wear heels and just generally be the person I was before this!

22. My illness has taught me: I should have appreciated my back when I was younger and been sensible when lifting things etc. Also that I’m stronger than I think I am, I’ve come so far, even though I feel I’m stuck in a rut!

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “Have you tried”….. 

24. But I love it when people: Treat me like a normal human being, I’m still the same person!! 

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: “The world is a jungle, you either fight or run forever”

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: Stay strong and never ever give up, flight for you and what is right for you and do not let other people make your decisions.  Also find a great chain of support, away from family and friends, people that may be going through the same thing as you, they are the ones that truly understand.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: Just how much fight I have in me, to stand up for myself and know when something is not right with my body, I’m the only person that can! 

28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: Listened to me, sometimes you just need to vent, and if you shout and scream for an hour and that person is still there, hold on to that person! 

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I need to raise awareness of my issues, nobody truly understands (those that don’t have health issues) the awareness needs to be raised higher! 

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: Grateful that you took the time out of your day to read my babble!  Perhaps you and me together can raise much needed awareness! Let’s do this!!! 

Want to share YOUR “30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know”,  follow this link and do your own! http://invisibleillnessweek.com/submit-article/30-things-meme/


4 thoughts on “30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know – #IIWK15 

  1. This is great my darling, I hate people telling me what I should try.. Or try sell me vitamins that guarantee me my fertility back… Sums it up. You are strong and a fighter and even though You miss your old self, I only know the you now and I love you to bits. You are amazing xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this, it makes such a difference to see others going through similar things. I have CFS, so not the same condition as you, but I can relate to a lot of what you say. Going to try my own version of the 30 things, thanks for inspiring me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry for the late reply, my internet hasn’t been working! Your welcome, although none of us want to be in his position, it is comforting to know your not alone. Go for it, get those 30 things written down! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

