DDD

 So I wanted to talk to you all about DDD, otherwise known as Degenerative Disc Disease.  

I had no idea what this was, had never heard of such a disease before.  That was till 5 years ago. 

My GP and Surgeons diagnosed me with DDD, and of course the word “disease” sticks in your head. Is there a tablet for that!!

So of course you get home and do the “Google” search and look up what it is.  But what has already terrified you is the word Disease.
Google is and always will be your best friend and worst enemy all wrapped in to one.  If you have any medical problems, stay away from Google!  You will diagnose yourself with God knows what!! (I bet your smiling and agreeing right now!!)

But there are conditions out there, where medical terminology can be a little misleading, spreading panic like wild fire.  This is one of those terms.  Degenerative Disc Disease is not really a disease, but it is, rather, a degenerative condition that at times can produce pain from a damaged disc. While everyone’s discs degenerate as they age, not everyone will develop painful symptoms.

So now you have calmed down from hearing the world disease, you begin to understand what this condition really is. If I hadn’t developed DDD when I was 25, I’d probably have when I was 75.  We all will at some point, but for the unlucky some we get a preview well before it’s due.

As I said above, not everyone will experience pain, and not everyone will know they even have DDD, but for the unlucky ones who do experience pain, it’s pain like no other.  

Now from my own experience – and remember everyone is different – the pain is nasty.  I ache every day.  I have shooting pains every day.  Some days I feel like an elephant has done a breakdance on my back, the next day a bus ran over me, then reversed to finish off the job.  No one day is the same, but every day is pain. 

As every person is different, every person has different levels of pain, every person is also at different stages of DDD, some advanced, some just finding out they have it.  

Either way, it’s not as scary as you may think, sure it’s a genuine medical condition, but don’t be terrified by the word “Disease”, it’s not as bad as its made out to be.  Yes it’s pain and yes it’s your spine, but it’s also going to part of you for the rest of your life.  It’s going to have to be something you learn to live with. 

And that sucks!  It’s not easy to accept that your spine is older than it should be and is failing you, but there’s not much you can do about it either.  

So allow yourself some time to accept it, even research it, and then try to move on.  Unfortunately it’s always going to be there, but it’s also all going to be down to you, how you accept it and how you live your life. 
Remember, LIVE your life, don’t let this RULE your life. 

Here are some handy links for you to have a read of:-

Do you have experience with DDD? Do let me know how you deal with it! 

    7 thoughts on “DDD

    1. Oh, how I hope your pain gets better. I have back and leg issues but not as serious as yours. Also, would you please tell me where you got your beautiful header? I would love use it myself sometimes in a post. Would you mind?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s not the best, most days it’s hard going just to even smile, but I guess life has to carry on. Sure! I tend to use photos I’ve taken in my post, but wanted something different this time! So this is from pixabay.com – here there is a whole load of “free” images. Free meaning that you are not infringing any copyright – have fun, it’s a great site!

        Like

    2. I am all to familiar with DDD. I also received that diagnosis in my early 20s. I am now 37 and 6 back surgeries later I am still in a lot of pain. The pain isn’t the hardest part to deal with for me, its the acceptance that I am no longer the person I once was. That was the hardest to overcome. Gentle hugs to you.

      Like

    3. I really sympathize Kat. I had an increasingly worsening burst disc in my back for a year before in the end I could not stand up. The pain was so bad it aged me, but the painkillers so strong that I could not function when I was taking them. Luckily for me it was fixed with one operation , so I can understand how you feel. When you have a condition that is life changing & limiting, you have to find a new normal. There is a loss of the things you could do once, but it’s important to find pastimes, interests and projects at which you can excel. A great read. Much love D x

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    