#BesidesMyDiagnosis

Ness from The Girl With Five Lads blog has decided to plant a seed in all of us Chronically ill folks, with the aim of sharing our self-love and also appreciation for those who need to feel that they are way more than their diagnosis.

So using the hashtag #BesidesMyDiagnosis and answering some simple questions, maybe we can start to feel like we are more that what we are diagnosed with.  

It’s hard enough receiving a life changing diagnosis and being told you have a long term illness, but we also start to mourn the person we once used to be, the life we once had.  But we don’t have to become what our illness dictates us to be, we need to remember the good things, the things that make us happy, the things that make us who we are.  We all have unique personalities, so why not share them!

So with that in mind, here are my answers:

 1. #besidesmydiagnosis the three things about my appearance that I love in the mirror? My smile, my hair (even bed head hair!) and my boobs – well you cant miss those things really!   

 2. #besidesmydiagnosis the things I have read most are?  Currently reading “Jo Milne – Breaking the Silence”.  I also have “The Room” & “Frog Dance” to start reading. 

 3. #besidesmydiagnosis my favourite comfort foods are? Macaroni Cheese, Popcorn, Mint Choc-Chip Icecream and my new fave thing Cookies and Cream KitKat (Mmm!)  

 4. #besidesmydiagnosis my favourite past times are?  Staying in bed for most of the day. Being able to do things without a second thought. Sitting in the pub having a few drinks, a good laugh and having no responsibilities, pretending not to be an adult for a short while! 

 
 5. #besidesmydiagnosis my biggest accomplishment since illness is? Being able to work.  Although i have had to reduce my hours which was a really tough decision, I am so proud that I’m still working, I need to, it’s what keeps me going.   

 6. #besidesmydiagnosis I feel my best quality is?  My ability to smile and get on with things.  I try so hard every day just to hold on to the person I once was, because deep down I am still that person, but if I can smile and keep going who knows what else I can do! 

 7. #besidesmydiagnosis my motto/mantra to live by? 

“Cry. Forgive. Learn. Move On”.

And my fave one – “Be yourself, unless you can be a unicorn, then be a unicorn” 

 
 8. #besidesmydiagnosis I would love to travel to? Italy and Canada, although not sure I’d come home from either! 

 
 9. #besidesmydiagnosis my guilty pleasure is? Cuddling up on the sofa, in my pyjamas watching some crime programmes (Rizzoli & Isles, Quantico, Criminal Minds, The Blacklist).  I do love a good crime programme! 

 
 10. #besidesmydiagnosis I have many dreams and ambitions such as? I had a dream to move to Canada, but my health went downhill, so now even visiting Canada would be a fantastic dream. I want to travel more, I want to see the world, how realistic that is, I’m not sure, but there’s no harm in dreaming. My ambition was to get a degree in Administration, which I did back in 2010.  So now I want to learn something new, and maybe get myself some new qualifications. Just to decide exactly what! 

So! Basically that’s me!  This is me #BesidesMyDiagnosis.

I look forward to reading yours! And remember to follow the instruction on Ness’s blog, and share your linky!

10 thoughts on “#BesidesMyDiagnosis

  1. What a fantastic blog Kat! I always knew there was more to you than this but it’s nice that you remember and still are this person! Boobs hey 🙂 Love you lots xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing a wee bit more about you! Thanks to Ness for starting this. I wish I could write mine now but if I fire up the laptop my hubby will wake up. My iPad is still being restored after a password add that I couldn’t remember and typing on the the phone is just not fun.
    Kristin / mini2z

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful blog. It is hard to prevent our illness from defining us, especially when you are the girl in the wheelchair. I’m trying really hard to build up dreams and ambitions again. I’ve just gone self hosted with my blog and that is a big ambition coming to life. I also want to move to France in the future when my daughter is older. My next challenge should be to improve my French! Lol.
    Cath xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for visiting and following. I have rosette stone French but keep forgetting about it with the brain fog! I’ll add it to my to do list now before I forget. Cxx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done on your achievements and ambitions.

    Congratulations on your blog. You deserve recognition!
    Have you heard about the Liebster Award? Well, not so much an award, more of a promotion. The ‘Award’ is for up and coming bloggers with less than 300 followers, to give them a boost. I am inviting you to participate; it will boost your blog as well as your ego! (If your following is larger, I apologise – you are already recognised. )

    If you wish to continue, here’s what you are asked to do:

    1. Thank your nominator (me)
    2. Share the award on your blog
    3. Answer 10 questions asked to you
    4. Ask 10 questions to 10 new nominees (who have less than 300 followers)
    5. Notify them via social media
    There is a more detailed explanation which I have prepared here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17459523/FMS_eNews/Liebster_award_invite.pdf
    My own blog gives information about fibromyalgia, http://www.fmsenews.blogspot.co.uk but any blog is eligible to participate in the Liebster Award. Please contact me if you would like to get involved. Please email me at fmsstella@gmail.com

    If you would like email notifications when each new page is published on my blog, please tell me when you email me.

    Well wishes
    Stella

    Like

Leave a Reply

