What the Foot?!

Honestly, if it’s not one thing, it’s something else!

Back when my disc slipped, over 5 years ago now, it had slipped on to my sciatic nerve.  Endless trips to a chiropractor would relieve the pain for a little while, but it would always come back with full force.  My left leg and bum were in agony, I used so many ice packs just to try and calm it, but to no avail.


So as it turns out, the time from my disc slipping and the first spinal op – 6 months – would leave me with a nerve damaged leg.  But not just my leg, my foot as well.

I still get sciatic pain now, and oh my god, it’s an actual b*tch of a pain.  It’s horrendous!  I’ve actually heard people say they would rather labour pain than sciatica.  Having not been through labour pains, I can only imagine!! 


Now over the years, I’ve slowly got used to the fact that I cant feel anything on my left side, even those pin prick tests the surgeons do are a waste of time, but today, something was different.

As I was walking to the chemist (My regular weekly trip!) along the pavement, I noticed and felt even more numbness, but I could actually feel the numbness, a sensation I’ve never had before.  It was weird, scary and terrifying at the same time.  I had no idea what was going on, but somehow I forgot how to walk. I didn’t fall or anything, but I was lifting my leg higher than I usuallly would just to walk. When my foot connected with the pavement I couldn’t feel it.  Now that’s not unusual, because nowadays i don’t feel anything under my left foot, I don’t feel the ground, but today something was different, I had even less feeling, but I could feel I had less feeling?

I walked back to the car, concentrating on my steps, seeing if my right foot felt like my left foot. Nope.  I stopped, checked my trainer to see if I had something wrong with it.  Nope.  I must have looked like a complete and utter idiot! 

What on earth is going on!

To say I’m a little freaked out is an understatement, I have absolutely no idea what’s going on! 

Let’s just hope tomorrow when I wake up, it was all a dream!

3 thoughts on “What the Foot?!

Leave a Reply

