My 2017 goals

I’m not one for setting resolutions, I never have been, because let’s face it, nobody sticks to them anyway.  I do, instead, set myself goals.

I think the goal setting thing came from my early Physio days, and learning to walk again, walking to one lamppost, then to the next one, with my end goal being the end of the street.  Having a goal, gave me something to aim for, and something to keep trying to achieve, no matter how hard it is.

So my 6 goals for 2017:

  1. Have a confirmed diagnosis on my health/chronic pain;
  2. Read more books -I have 8 books on my shelf, and I’m going to read them by the end of the year, before I buy any more!;
  3. Walk. I’d like to walk 1-2 miles as much as I can, comfortably (without killing myself in the process!), but this is a MASSIVE goal for me!;
  4. Hamish – Have Hamish more advanced in his gundog training. Retrieving dummies/game, walking to heel and possibly introducing him to the gun.
  5. Go swimming to try and build my back/core strength up;
  6. Learn.  Whether it’s a course for my career, or a personal course, I want to have achieved something by the end of the year.

They may not be very ambitious, or mean very much to anyone else, but for me, these things are important to me.  These are the things that keep me going.


Remember, 5 years ago, I could barely walk 10’yards without my legs giving way, but now I want to give it my best shot and aim for as far as I can go.  I know I will still be in the constant pain with every step, that won’t ever change, but perhaps learning to push through and work with it, may help me in the long term? A long term goal?

That’s the thing about goals, these aren’t set in stone, I dont have to prove myself or make any commitments to anyone.  I will give these goals my best shot and see how I go.

Each day is a new day to try, I can’t do any more than try.

12 thoughts on “My 2017 goals

  1. Happy New Year lovely, setting goals is a great idea and you are right, do these for you, no one else, the main thing is that you are moving forward. Be there with you every step! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve got this chick! All of these goals are doable Hun if you put your wee mind to it – I know it’s easier said than done – but you’ve got this! I know you do! I also want to do lots more reading this year – let me know if you want me to send another book your way at any point this year and I will do so!

    All the best for 2017 chick.

    Love
    Charlene McElhinney

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

