Switch Off

In a world where Social Media is at the fore front of our daily lives, and where people can’t seem to have a normal conversation with one another without the glow of a phone screen, it got me thinking – how much time are we wasting being “social”.


Now I’m guilty of all Social Media, I have Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and even Snapchat, but why? For example, I have over 400 “friends” on Facebook, but yet I hear from only a handful of those on a regular basis, I sure as hell don’t ever see those 400 friends! Sure, I have friends all over the world, and it’s a great tool to be able to keep in touch with those that aren’t close to you, and I think that’s probably the only reason I keep my accounts, but still I have 400 people I barely ever hear from? Why?


I’m also guilty of being that mad animal woman, and mainly all my social media posts are about my dogs or cats, quite simply because they are my life.  I’m certain people think “oh here she goes, another dog pic”, but hey, I think the same when I see “another baby pic” – so what’s the difference? There is none (apart from the obvious animal/human thing!!), It’s our lives, it’s become what we share, it’s become our routine.

But because of my hectic life with my animals, and everything else I have to fit in daily, I never seem to find the time to be on social media, till the evening, when I’ve loads of notifications.  Just going through them all is time consuming and a daily chore. It’s like a routine, evening comes, let’s check my accounts. It bores me.  There’s so many other things I could be doing other than checking the latest meme someone’s posted or the latest baby picture.

I have to admit, I have become less interested in social media lately, mainly because I can’t be bothered looking at my phone all night, but that doesn’t stop the “oh did you see the post from x, y,z”.  No. I literally have better things to be doing with my time!


I guess what I’m trying to say is, if we all relied on social media a lot less, maybe we’d feel better about ourselves.  We’d spend more time doing things we love, being round people and having a proper conversation.  Maybe read books, or even do some crafty things? Perhaps we’d even write to one another (you know, the old fashioned pen to paper way!), even call one another, instead of relying on status updates to tell us what’s going on in a persons life.


I appreciate my life way more than I ever did.  I appreciate my surroundings and the life I have created for myself.  I now take the time to notice things and be aware of the small things, the things that make me happy and make me smile.  The things that don’t involve a phone screen, just actual normal life.


So, perhaps everyone should take a break and rely less on the virtual world and come back to live in the real world, maybe the world would be a happier place?

So if you need me, I’ll be outside, enjoying life, probably in some muddy field, playing with my dogs!

10 thoughts on “Switch Off

  1. Agree 100%. I spent about six weeks on hiatus from Facebook and just the other day, trimmed my friends list down to 60. My anxiety, self esteem, and depression all improved once I let go of all the people who pay zero attention to my posts. We’re too digital, and it’s moving our locus of identity from internal to external, relying too much on the input and activities of others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agree with this completely. I find myself spending so much time on social media worrying about people I don’t even know, to the point where I’m missing out on actual social time with the people around me. Quality over quantity is my new mantra I think! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly right. Most of my friends are on social media, and they all live away from me, so in that respects it’s good, but I hate sitting night after night glued to a screen – there’s got to be more to life! Xx

      Like

  3. I’m also guilty of spending way too much time on social media! It’s addicting, and FOMO really can set in if you’re away from social media for periods of time! To prevent myself from getting distracted by social media while I’m doing my uni work, I’ve turned all push notifications off on my phone, so I actively have to open the apps to see if someone has tweeted / Facebooked me. I find this really helps me stay off social media and focus on the important stuff!

    Abbey 💓 http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m also getting ore and more bored with social media. I have to keep in touch with customers but I often think about deactivating Facebook. I doubt I’d talk to anyone though if I did. 😐

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

